top of page

Excel Skills?

This past week has been filled with work in excel sheets. Before working on this project, I never had a need to actively use excel or sheets, so being so immersed in numbers was a completely new experience for me. Throughout the interviews that I had towards the beginning of the year, I noticed a trend. Many professionals had said that the world is changing rapidly and by the time that I come out of college, the world of business and technology will have changed completely. I would continuously hear advice on how I should improve my understanding of coding and how to work between word, excel and slides. It would increase my chances of being a better candidate.

Additionally, by doing this project, I will be able to gain yet another skill. Today, I had a mentor visit where my mentor and I discussed not only where to place the numbers, but also why. It is important to understand why I am inserting the numbers into certain columns and what they mean. If I just do continue putting the numbers without comprehending, there is no point in doing so. The reason that I am doing this project to to understand the real world application of accounting and pro forma statements and I think that my mentor is doing a great job of preparing me.

For this next week, I plan on working hard on my final product, as through each mentor visit, I gain more understanding on the purpose of each action and input.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page