top of page

Running to my Original Work!

These past three weeks have gone by in a blur as winter break came and gone. After my vacation, I set to work on finishing my Original Work. I had talked with my mentor over what should be done as well as how I should create it. Instead of creating a financial plan as I initially set out to do, I changed my course to comparing the finances of three different companies: Snapchat, Twitter and Facebook. Snapchat had recently gone public in 2017 and my mentor recommended that I should research about the stocks of the newly public company and see how it fared.

Before starting, I had no idea of how stocks and shared played a role in the company, but as I continued to research, I realized that the success of a public company depends on the number of people interested in buying shares of the company. Therefore, the timing that Snapchat had of going public was what really caused the limited amount of stock price. If Snapchat had gone earlier, they would have more potential to develop. If they had gone public later, then they would have more time to build a better base and have a stronger ability to compete with already established social media apps. My original work resulted in the creation of a comparison between some of the major media networks and I learned a great deal about Snapchat.

Next week, I plan on working on my display board as well as preparing for the Research Showcase. Hopefully everything goes smoothly and I can match my display board to my original work!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page