top of page

Business Symposium


This past week, we had the business symposium at Independence High School. I had so much fun and I got to meet so many new individuals. I was able to talk to an accounting individual as well and we had a great discussion about what she did as well her responsibilities and her clients. Additionally, I was able to conduct an informational interview with her outside of the business symposium. There I was able to understand more about accounting and auditing which is what she does. I discovered the different types of accounting which are: public accounting, government accounting, private accounting and auditing. Within those big groups, there are also smaller sections.

This weekend, we had a four-day break in which I was able to have 2 interviews with two very different professionals. I was able to interview a sales manager at the AT&T Stadium who brought me around. It was so cool and interesting to be able to walk onto the field and also have the manager describe to me the uses of the different sections of the stadium. I was able to walk into VIP spots and imagine how the manager's work would be incorporated into each area. It was such a cool experience and I learned much about what he did, how it became plausible at the stadium and also how he managed clients. It was a really cool interview where I saw and learned things that I would've never experienced outside of ISM.

My second interview was with a professional that I mentioned above. She gave me much insight on how she got into accounting and also different scenarios that could occur as an accountant. Additionally, she gave me a few ideas on what my original work could look like. It was very interesting and made me think more on what I want my end goal to be.

For this next week, I plan on working hard to keep up with school work and starting to decide on who mentor will be.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page