top of page

First Interview? Check!

It is the 3rd week of school, but only my second weekly blog. I have just conducted my first interview and it was really interesting. My first interview was with Mr. Harlan Batac who is the Accounting Manager at PSR. He was very kind and gave me a lot of information on accounting. Because Mr. Harlan Batac is an accounting manager, he oversees the whole process of client interaction and one of the most important tasks that he does is reviewing the financial documents. We had a long discussion about how a great accountant should understand the business that they are working for. For example, Mr. Harlan Batac told me that a good accountant will do their job well and complete the financial documents correctly. However an observant one will notice if there is a outlier and ask, "Why is this transaction like this?". To make it more clear, if the business is doing well in one month, the accountant should see a raise in revenue. However, if the revenue is the same as it was last month, a great accountant should ask a simple question, "Why?".

Mr. Harlan Batac told me that this skill does involve experience, however if one does their research on the company, they should notice these things as well. This is a vital skill to being successful and improving myself in the field.

Lastly, during our interview, Mr. Harlan Batac explained to me the difference between taxing, auditing and consulting. I want to keep my options open, but I felt really interested in auditing, and hope to find someone who works in that area. Hopefully I can conduct an interview with an auditor! I am looking forward to this coming week as I have another interview set up and I'm just so excited!!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page